HiSAM Free Events

Hawaii State Art Museum admission and events are always free! Our event calendar is also posted on Facebook (Hawaii State Art Museum) and in the SFCA’s monthly email newsletter (SFCA eNews).

First Friday: the first Friday of each month, the museum is open late (6:00 – 9:00 pm) with live entertainment. Take the stairs or the elevators to the second floor. The shop (HiSAM Gallery Shop x MORI), cafe (Artizen by MW) and the non-profit volunteer group Friends of the Hawaii State Art Museum also host First Friday events, with art sales, a bar, and special menus. For information about those events, please visit the HiSAM Gallery Shop x MORI website (shophisam.com)/social media (Facebook | Instagram) or call (808) 566-6615.

Second Saturday: the second Saturday of each month, hands-on art activities for all ages in the ground floor Multipurpose Room, 11:00 am – 3:00 pm. All materials are provided, drop in at any time during activity hours, allowing at least 30 minutes to complete a project.

Art Lunch: the last Tuesday of each month, a presentation or lecture by an artist or arts professional, 12:00 – 1:00 pm. Bring your own lunch to eat during the presentation, or buy one from the museum cafe. Ground floor Multipurpose Room.

June 2018
First Friday: Sean Cleland ~ guitar based pop, rock, and soul
Friday, June 1, 2018 | 6:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Second Saturday: “Captivating Color” watercolor painting
Saturday, June 9, 2018 | 11:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Building closed for King Kamehameha I Day
Monday, June 11, 2018

Art Lunch: Artists of Hawaii ~ Fred Roster (documentary)
Tuesday, June 26, 2018 | 12:00 – 1:00 p.m.

Exhibit closing: Young Artists of Hawaii at HiSAM (duplicate exhibit stays open all year in the Pa Kamalii courtyard of the Hawaii Convention Center)

July 2018
CLOSED for Independence Day
Wednesday, July 4, 2018

Artist Pau Hana: Natalie Robertson, Honolulu Biennial
Thursday, July 5, 2018 | 5:30 – 6:30 p.m.

First Friday: Evening of Jazz with the Hawaiʻi Friends of Civil Rights
Friday, July 6, 2018 | 6:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Last day to view the ACCESSION exhibit
Saturday, July 7, 2018

DIAMOND HEAD GALLERY TEMPORARY CLOSURE
includes the EMPHASIZED: eye on scale exhibit and the I Love Art hands-on gallery
July 8 – August 3, 2018

Second Saturday: Shadow Puppets with Bonnie Kim, quilt activity with the Hawaiʻi Quilt Guild
Saturday, July 14, 2018 | 11:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Art Lunch: Regina Bode
Tuesday, July 31, 2018 | 12:00 – 1:00 p.m.

August 2018
First Friday: Shoji Ledward, acoustic guitar
Exhibit opening: State of Art (recent additions to the Art in Public Places Collection)
Friday, August 3, 2018 | 6:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Second Saturday: Clay Day with the Hawaiʻi Potters’ Guild
Saturday, August 11, 2018 | 11:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

CLOSED for Statehood Day holiday
Friday, August 17, 2018

Art Lunch: Marques Marzan
Tuesday, August 28, 2018 | 12:00 – 1:00 p.m.

September 2018
BUILDING CLOSED for Labor Day holiday
Monday, September 3, 2018

First Friday: North Shore Ramblers, bluegrass
Friday, September 7, 2018 | 6:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Second Saturday: Hawaiʻi Craftsmen, activity to be announced
Saturday, September 8, 2018 | 11:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Civil Beat Morning Coffee
Tuesday, September 25, 2018 | 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Art Lunch: presenter to be announced
Tuesday, September 28, 2018 | 12:00 – 1:00 p.m.

October 2018
First Friday: Hawaiʻi Opera Theatre
Friday, October 5, 2018 | 6:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Hawaiʻi Children & Youth Day
Sunday, October 7, 2018

Second Saturday: Hawaiʻi Fibre & Arts Guild, activity to be announced
Saturday, October 13, 2018 | 11:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Art Lunch: presenter to be announced
Tuesday, October 30, 2018 | 12:00 – 1:00 p.m.

November 2018
First Friday: performer to be announced
Friday, November 2, 2018 | 6:00 – 9:00 p.m.

CLOSED for General Election Day
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Second Saturday: activity to be announced
Saturday, November 10, 2018 | 11:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

CLOSED for Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, November 22, 2018

Art Lunch: presenter to be announced
Tuesday, November 27, 2018 | 12:00 – 1:00 p.m.

December 2018
First Friday: performer to be announced
Friday, December 7, 2018 | 6:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Second Saturday: stamp prints with Margo Vitarelli
Saturday, December 8, 2018 | 11:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

CLOSED for Christmas Day
Tuesday, December 25, 2018
*due to the Christmas Day holiday there will be no Art Lunch presentation