HiSAM Free Events

Hawaii State Art Museum admission and events are always free! Our event calendar is also posted on Facebook (Hawaii State Art Museum) and in the SFCA’s monthly email newsletter (SFCA eNews).

First Friday: the first Friday of each month, the museum is open late (6:00 – 9:00 pm) with live entertainment. Take the stairs or the elevators to the second floor. The shop (HiSAM Gallery Shop x MORI), cafe (Artizen by MW) and the non-profit volunteer group Friends of the Hawaii State Art Museum also host First Friday events, with art sales, a bar, and special menus. For information about those events, please visit the HiSAM Gallery Shop x MORI website (shophisam.com)/social media (Facebook | Instagram) or call (808) 566-6615.

Second Saturday: the second Saturday of each month, hands-on art activities for all ages in the ground floor Multipurpose Room, 11:00 am – 3:00 pm. All materials are provided, drop in at any time during activity hours, allowing at least 30 minutes to complete a project.

Art Lunch: the last Tuesday of each month, a presentation or lecture by an artist or arts professional, 12:00 – 1:00 pm. Bring your own lunch to eat during the presentation, or buy one from the museum cafe. Ground floor Multipurpose Room.

September 2018
BUILDING CLOSED for Labor Day holiday
Monday, September 3, 2018

First Friday: North Shore Ramblers, bluegrass
Opening reception: MEN exhibit
Friday, September 7, 2018 | 6:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Second Saturday: Hawaiʻi Craftsmen, “Treecycle”
Saturday, September 8, 2018 | 11:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Art Lunch: Emily McIlroy, “The Lilies How They Grow”
Tuesday, September 25, 2018 | 12:00 – 1:00 p.m.

Artist Pau Hana: Kaʻili Chun & Lori Uyehara
Wednesday, September 26, 2018 | 6:00 – 8:00 p.m.

October 2018
First Friday: Hawaiʻi Opera Theatre
Friday, October 5, 2018 | 6:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Hawaiʻi Children & Youth Day
Sunday, October 7, 2018 | 11:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Second Saturday: Hawaiʻi Fibre & Arts Guild, activity to be announced
Saturday, October 13, 2018 | 11:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Art Lunch: Charlton Kupaʻa Hee (ceramics)
Tuesday, October 30, 2018 | 12:00 – 1:00 p.m.

November 2018
First Friday: performer to be announced
Friday, November 2, 2018 | 6:00 – 9:00 p.m.

CLOSED for General Election Day
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Second Saturday: Holiday Clay
Saturday, November 10, 2018 | 11:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

CLOSED for Veterans’ Day
Monday, November 12, 2018

CLOSED for Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, November 22, 2018

Art Lunch: presenter to be announced
Tuesday, November 27, 2018 | 12:00 – 1:00 p.m.

Artist Pau Hana: Masami Teraoka & Lynda Hess
Wednesday, November 28, 2018 | 6:00 – 8:00 p.m.
*the independently operated HiSAM Museum Gallery Shop x MORI will have a display of works for sale by Masami Teraoka, Lynda Hess, and Lori Uyehara 10/05 – 11/30/2018. Please visit the shop’s website, shophisam.com, or call them at (808) 566-6615 for additional information.

December 2018
First Friday: performer to be announced
Friday, December 7, 2018 | 6:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Second Saturday: stamp prints with Margo Vitarelli
Saturday, December 8, 2018 | 11:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

CLOSED for Christmas Day
Tuesday, December 25, 2018
*due to the Christmas Day holiday there will be no Art Lunch presentation