SFCA Board of Commissioners Update (July 2022)

June 30, 2022

On June 15, 2022, the SFCA Board of Commissioners welcomed 3 new commissioners: Jill Kuramoto, Michael Marshall, and Taylour Chang. Mahalo nui to outgoing commissioners Jane Clement and Karen Tiller Polivka.

Appointed by the state governor, the Board of Commissioners oversees the SFCA Executive Director, provides input, and approves spending. Commissioners are volunteers and do not receive compensation for their duties.

Jill Kuramoto brings a strong background in journalism and public relations with experience as Communications Director with the Hawaiʻi State Senate. She is currently the Chief Communications Officer and Client Development Director at RKT Media Hawaii and an Associate at Pineapple Tweed.

Michael Marshall is a Professor of Art at the University of Hawaiʻi-Hilo and an artist who has received many awards in art exhibitions.

Taylour Chang is the Director of Public Programs and Community Engagement at Bishop Museum. Taylour was an “Artists of Hawaiʻi Now” co-curator (2019-2022), an exhibition at the Honolulu Museum of Art that highlights work by artists living in Hawaiʻi. Prior to Bishop Museum, she was the Curator of Film and Performance at the Honolulu Museum of Art, overseeing the museum’s film and music department, including the Doris Duke Theatre.

Susan Browne will be serving a second term. Susan is also a lecturer at the University of Hawaiʻi-Mānoa College of Education, Elementary Education Program, and has previously been the Education Director at the Maui Arts & Cultural Center.

The next board meeting is scheduled for July 20, 2022, 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Members of the public are welcome to attend online via Zoom. Upcoming board meetings are posted to the SFCA website calendar: SFCA.Hawaii.gov/Events.

Newsletter Signup

Subscribe and keep in touch with news from the SFCA and the Hawaiʻi State Art Museum.