Board of Commissioners

Appointed by the state governor, the Board of Commissioners oversees the Executive Director, provides input, and approves spending. Commissioners are volunteers and do not receive compensation for their duties.

Public Meetings

Unless otherwise specified, the public is invited to attend SFCA Standing Committee and Commission Meetings. All meetings take place in the multipurpose room of the No. 1 Capitol District building, 250 South Hotel Street, Honolulu, 96813 unless otherwise noted. Meetings and agendas are posted just prior to the meetings on the State of Hawai‘i Calendar of Events. Enter “State Foundation on Culture and the Arts” in the search bar. Meeting dates are published in the SFCA’s email newsletter (subscribe here) and on our website event calendar.

2024 Meeting Dates

Meeting Materials

Download all meeting agendas, meeting minutes and materials.

Board Members

Fiscal Year 2024: July 1, 2023 - June 30, 20234

  • Sean Connelly, At-Large
  • Susan Browne, At-Large
  • Nalani Brun, Kaua‘i County
  • Randall Fujiki, At-Large
  • Jill Kuramoto, At-Large
  • Michael Marshall, At-Large
  • Ronald Michioka, City & County of Honolulu
  • Konrad Ng, Chairperson
  • Janet Sato, Maui

SFCA Commission Chairs

  • Masaru “Pundy” Yokouchi 1966-1978
  • Bea Ranis 1978-1981
  • Naomi Morita 1982-1986
  • Franklin Odo 1986-1989
  • Millicent M. Y. H. Kim 1989-1994
  • John Hara 1994-1998
  • Eunice DeMello 1998-2002
  • Mona Abadir 2002-2006
  • Gae Bergquist Trommald 2007-2008
  • Lori Thomas 2008-2010
  • Mary Begier 2010-2011
  • Barbara Saromines-Ganne 2011-2015
  • Patricia Hamamoto 2015-2019
  • Lloyd Unebasami 2019-2023